How to append path to outgoing requests

I am new to Apigee and I’m confused how I can make this to work

I’ve a backend API with 4 operations

POST /users/register
PUT /users/{id}
GET /users/{id}
DELETE /users/{id}

If I understood it right I create one proxy API with 4 flows in proxyendpoints and targetendpoints

The target endpoint path is different from proxy endpoint so I suppress from being copied using

context.setVariable("target.copy.pathsuffix", false)

Now since each operation has a different path I don’t have path defined

<HTTPTargetConnection>
    <LoadBalancer>
        <Server name="abc"/>
    </LoadBalancer>
</HTTPTargetConnection>

Question: How can I add path to the outgoing request for each operation. I’ve tried using assign message with set path but doesn’t work.

If using route rules for each operation how can I add the id to outgoing request.

1. <HTTPTargetConnection>
        <LoadBalancer>
            <Server name="abc"/>
        </LoadBalancer>
        <Path>/somepath/{id}</Path>
    </HTTPTargetConnection>
0 2 458
2 REPLIES 2

HI,  don't create separate target flows for each operation in this scenario.  best approach would be as below. 

1. just create a javascript policy to fix the targetpath in  request flow under target postflow.  sample javascript. 

var pathsuffix = context.getVariable("proxy.pathsuffix");
context.setVariable("target.copy.pathsuffix", "false");
if( ( pathsuffix.startsWith("/users") ){
pathsuffix = pathsuffix.replace('users', 'newpath')
}
context.setVariable("mytarget.path", pathsuffix);

2. add mytarget.path to HTTPTargetConnection as below.

<Flows/>
<HTTPTargetConnection>
<SSLInfo>
<Enabled>true</Enabled>
</SSLInfo>
<Properties>
<Property name="success.codes">1xx,2xx,3xx,4xx,5xx</Property>
</Properties>
<LoadBalancer>
<Server name="TS-Server1"/>
</LoadBalancer>
<Path>{mytarget.path}</Path>
</HTTPTargetConnection>

If I understood it right I create one proxy API with 4 flows in proxyendpoints and targetendpoints