How can I have a db_owner permission on System Databases?

I'm Database Engineer that works most with SQL Server and with experience with SQL and all SQL alternatives in Microsoft Azure and AWS, and recently had my first experience with Google Cloud Database world, and I'm having a problem with a database that I migrated from Azure MI to Google Cloud SQL Server Instance;

In Google Cloud SQL there is no such a option like sysadmin role and privileges, and I know all about that, I studied all the articles explaining about it, but I still need to have a user with db_owner privileges in all system databases like master, msdb and tempdb;

How can I work around of this missing option in Google Cloud? How I can have a USER with permission enough to give db_owner roles membership to any user that I want on SQL Server without receiving this error?

henryleme_0-1713194359476.png

I searched for a workaround of this missing option/ difference on Google Cloud and still had no resolutions;
If anyone can please enlighten me, I would be very glad!

3 7 186
7 REPLIES 7

Hi @henryleme ,

As you've noted, Google Cloud SQL does not offer the sysadmin role or direct db_owner rights on system databases such as master, msdb, and tempdb. This configuration is intentionally designed to enhance security and manageability.

To address your needs, consider the following workarounds:

Using the cloudsqladmin User:

• This user has elevated privileges that are somewhat similar to those of the sysadmin role.
  • You can use this account for tasks like creating logins or managing jobs in system databases.
  • Please note that it does not grant full db_owner rights, and therefore some operations may still be restricted.

Creating Dedicated Users with Tailored Permissions: