GRPC Java service in cloud run

I am new to GRPC and Cloud Run. I have written a very simple grpc java service. The same service works fine when I run them locally. However, when I deploy to cloud run,I am not able to call the grpc server. The grpc service is listening on port $PORT(8080) as specified in the document.

The server code is

Server server = ServerBuilder.forPort(port).addService(this).build();
            server.start();

The following are the cloud run configurations for the grpc server

Ingress Control : Internal

Enabled Use HTTP/2 end-to-end

Authentication : Allow unauthenticated invocations

The java client which is also a cloud run service uses this code to connect with the grpc server

ManagedChannel channel = ManagedChannelBuilder.forAddress(grpcHost, grpcPort).usePlaintext().build();
SimpleGrpcServiceBlockingStub grpcStub = SimpleGrpcServiceGrpc.newBlockingStub(channel);

The grpcHost is xxxxx.a.run.app (without https) and the grpcPort is 8080.

The Client Cloud run service is configured with

Ingress Control : All (Allow direct access to your service from the internet)

Connect to a VPC for outbound traffic - Enabled

Send traffic directly to a VPC - uses default VPC

Traffic Routing - Route all traffic to the VPC

While running the client I get the following error 

io.netty.channel.ConnectTimeoutException: connection timed out: xxx.run.app/216.239.32.53:8080

What am I mising here ? Any suggestions.

Any help is highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Regards

Srinivasan

Solved Solved
1 2 260
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi,

Thank you for your response. The issue is that the client should listen to port 443. 

The following code change helped me to connect with GRPC server in cloud run

SslContext sslCtxt = GrpcSslContexts.forClient().trustManager(InsecureTrustManagerFactory.INSTANCE).build();

ManagedChannel channel = NettyChannelBuilder.forAddress(utilGrpcHost, utilGrpcPort)

.sslContext(sslCtxt).build();

Regards