Will Google Voice Become Usable?

As it stands now, Google Voice has great potential, but there are so many basic features missing it is completely unusable for lots of SMBs. 

• Cannot call out from "Main Line"
  • Cannot receive or send text messages from "Main Line"
  • No shared contact lists
  • All "departments" require their own line instead of being able to call out from the "Main Line"

As a consumer, I only want one number to call a business, not several. I also want to be able to text that business when I can not or do not want to talk.

As a business owner, I want my team calling out from one, recognizable phone number. I want our customers to be able to text us with questions... and I NEED my team to be see a shared contact list with history, etc.

I really hope Google Voice gets these basic features soon... It would be hard to beat in the Workspace suite. 

30 35 3,637
35 REPLIES 35

Fully agreed. Google Voice is just an overpriced, seemingly abandoned barebones product at this point. Check out Dialpad (the company founded by the original Google Voice creators) or for something more simple, yet fully functional, Aircall. 

We currently use Dialpad (and have since it launched as Switch) it has everything we need, but it's becoming a service focused entirely on large sales teams and call centers, and even more importantly, the service has become unusable on my teams devices in the field. Missed and dropped calls awful call quality, frustrated customers, frustrated team members. On the flip side, the Google Voice test lines we have work great in the field... it's the rest of Google Voice that's useless. 

Thanks for sharing your experience with Dialpad. I never tried the product myself but it looked great "on paper". You saved me some time ๐Ÿ™‚

Just replying to state that I agree as well. Hopefully someone sees this and they can kickstart more features for Google Voice.