Autopopulating tables with statistics (monthly sums, monthly averages, yearly sums)

Hello good people - I need some guidance please.

I'm making a free app, firstly for myself but hopefully will help other farmers here in the Philippines.  I've been using Appsheet for a few months but am at that stage where I've successfully made some working apps, they're slow or not done to best practices, so I'm redoing them with new stuff I've learned. 

I'm a farmer and we have a rainwater harvesting system so that I'm independent of all the problems and power-outs of the local power and water supplies.  I've always recorded rainfall and tank levels but now that we have a seriously dry El Nino I need to make decisions about my water usage based on previous years usage etc.

Graphs like this help me (from a previous version of the app that I'm trying to improve): Quickchart graph of monthly rainfall versus average, min and max. 

My main table "DIARY" includes records for either of two events; "RAIN" (where I record the rainfall in "mm" and also the final tank level) and "PUMP" (where I have pump start and stop times, tank start and finish levels etc). All use the same DATE TIMESTAMP. All in Google Sheets.

Originally I used Google Sheets to make a table/sheet "STATISTICS" which I filled with formulas to do the work. Then I discovered Google Query but my head struggled with the syntax and then I learned it's incompatible with Appsheet?

Then I wanted Appsheet to do all the work so have been using ref_rows().  I'm creating two or three statistics tables. First is "STATISTICS MONTHLY TOTALS"  which shares a common column "YYYYMM" (date shown as 202404) with DIARY. In DIARY, the YYYYMM column is type ref.  Then to get the monthly rainfall it's simply:

sum([Related Diarys By yyyymm][RAIN Gauge mm])

Originally I used this table to also calculate average monthly rainfall, minimum and maximum monthly rainfalls: