Is it possible to have a Table without a Key column?

I am trying to set a Table where the columns are standard values to be selected (in other tables).

Ej: Billing Rate, JobStatus, ClientType, etc.

The idea is:

1. Have a single table where the variables/options are kept.
  2. Make it easier to maintain options over time.

Problem:

1. Appsheet does not let me have a table without a key.
  2. Even if I try to turn it off, Appsheet creates a _RowNumber Column and designates it as the key.

Questions:

1. Is it possible to have a Table without a column selected as a key.
  2. If not, is it possible to have a table to hold values, options in a different way?

1 26 600
  • UX
26 REPLIES 26

No. Itโ€™s the base of any table. The bare minimum columns you need are 2:
A Key and the value you need.
You could have just 1 and make it Key but thatโ€™s really risky.

What do you mean by that?

SK,

Thank you for your prompt reply.

(Disclaimer: I am an old engineer โ€œdinosaurโ€ used to the basic spreadsheet that is new to Appsheet. )

Typically when I set up a spreadsheet,

1. I create a tab where to keep the options for cells I wanted to control the value of.
  2. Then named ranges are used to force the control values in other tabs/cells as required.

I am trying to set up a similar process using Appsheet.
Right now I am trying to use a โ€œReferenceTableโ€ to hold the control values.
Then, in the other tables columns that I want to control the input values, use โ€œEnum List โ†’ Data Validity โ†’ Valid Ifโ€ and point it to the column in the โ€œReferenceTableโ€ that holds the values I want to limit input to.

EJ-Variable#1: JobStatus: (Active, Pending, Closed)
Ej-Variable#3: Inspection Type: (Condition Assesment, Concrete casting, etcโ€ฆ)
Ej-Variable#2: Inspector: (Ft, Sb, Ap, etcโ€ฆ)

In principle, I think it should work.