Security Filters for different level of app users

Hi 

I am new to Appsheet and not from a developing background.

I am stuck with security filters for my app. 

I have 3 levels of access

• Super - Full access to the app and all its data
  • BSO - Access to edit their data under their useremail as well as view other's data who are in the same department.
  • User - only accesses their data, under their useremail but can edit and add.

I tried to follow and training video online which unfortunately did not work. Here is a snap of my user table and data table.

Ange_Law_1-1708105709981.png

Ange_Law_0-1708105687805.png

This is the expression I used:

IFS(
ANY(Users[Role])='Super',
TRUE,
ANY(Users[Role])='BSO',
OR(
[Email address]=USEREMAIL(),
AND(
[Email address].[Department]=ANY(Users[Department]),
[Email address].[Role]='User'
)
),
TRUE,
[Email address]=USEREMAIL()
)

Any help would be appreciated. I'm pulling my hair out trying to get it to work.

0 6 152
6 REPLIES 6

Hello!

Have you tried using a combination with the function USERROLE() in table definition and security filters ?

https://support.google.com/appsheet/answer/10108128?hl=en

I don't see any reason your formula won't work if the Users table is filtered with the useremail and it has only one row after the security filter. Though you can write the formula a little bit easier, but that's not the reason.
OR(
AND(
[Email address].[Department]=ANY(Users[Department]),
[Email address].[Role]='User'
)
)

Thank you for replying, I have had another go but I have now have the error 

Column Email address in expression '[Email address].[Department]' does not contain a reference.

Might need to try it this way:

IFS(
TRUE,
ANY(Users[Role])='BSO',
OR(
AND(
[Department]=ANY(Users[Department]),
ANY(Users[Role])='User'
)
),
TRUE,
[Email address]=USEREMAIL()
)

It means your [Email] column's type is not a Ref or Enum (or EnumList) base of Ref. You can only use deref formula if the column type is one of those.