Can't acces to my MySQL database with python Connector

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Google Cloud software, and despite my efforts to thoroughly read through the documentation, I find myself unable to access my MySQL database on Google Cloud. To provide some context, I hope this information will help clarify my issue.

I'm tasked with creating access to a MySQL database on Google Cloud for the employees of a company. I've created an instance with a private IP and configured a service account with all the necessary roles and permissions, which I intend to use to grant access to the database to the workers. Additionally, I've set up a VPC network and connected the Cloud SQL Instance to this VPC, as well as authorizing my local IP to connect. As of now, I haven't configured a Google Cloud VPN or a tunnel with my local network. My initial question is: Do I need to have a VPN IPsec for my local network in order to allow communication between my Cloud SQL instance and my local network?

At present, I can't configured a VPN IPsec in my local network, and assuming it was necessary, I temporarily switched my Cloud SQL instance to public, just long enough to establish a successful connection. My hope was that this would simplify the process for connecting to my database. I've set up some firewall rules to only allow communication from my local IP to my instance. I attempted to connect to my database using the following Python script (adapted from documentation):

'''

import os
import sqlalchemy
import pymysql
from google.auth import load_credentials_from_file
from google.cloud.sql.connector import Connector, IPTypes
from dotenv import load_dotenv

def connect_with_connector() -> sqlalchemy.engine.base.Engine:

"""

Initializes a connection pool for a Cloud SQL instance of MySQL.

Uses the Cloud SQL Python Connector package.

"""

# Note: Saving credentials in environment variables is convenient, but not

# secure - consider a more secure solution such as